Listen Earnestly

May 3, 2012 § Leave a comment

“Listen earnestly to anything your children want to tell you, no matter what. If you don’t listen eagerly to the little stuff when they are little, they won’t tell you the big stuff when they are big, because to them all of it has always been big stuff.”
~ Catherine M Wallace

I do love this quote. Really love it. If we pay attention to our children when they talk to us, they will learn that it’s ok to tell us stuff, that we are interested in them. If we show respect in our actions and body language they will not close up. If we listen to the little stuff, perhaps they will not feel the need to tell it to us a million times or more!

I want my children to know that I am interested in them. I need to remember to not be so busy during the day, to include them in my activities. Sometimes I do need to do some work but unless I’m actually on the phone or the butter is burning whatever I’m doing can wait until I’ve read that story three times (and the next two stories), had that cuddle, changed that nappy, played with the cars.

And then there’s just a little less stress floating around because I’ve reaffirmed that connection with my children, rather than pushing them aside, telling them to wait.

What are your children telling you today?

Messy Boy is telling me we’re on the moon. And we need star cakes. Good job I made some – eventually, after decyphering his crying because I was putting chocolate into the cake mix instead of making him a hot chocolate :-/

Messy Baby woke me up this morning telling me he needed a nappy change. He doesn’t cry about it. Just chatters noisily and won’t latch back onto his boob until I realise that normal methods of sending him back to sleep (i.e. that boob) aren’t working…. As soon as he was sorted out, we settled back to sleep and poor Messy Dad left for work with the rest of his little family still snoring! Doesn’t happen very often but I guess we all needed that lie-in this morning!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Listen Earnestly at the messy mama.

meta

