Homemade fingerpaints

May 31, 2012 § 6 Comments

Today we made homemade fingerpaints. I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, ever since I saw how easy it looked. The main ingredient is cornflour (cornstarch) which is so cheap and easily available that I don’t think I’m going to go back to shop-bought fingerpaints! I found the recipe originally here.

homemade fingerpaints tutorial how-to

Ingredients (enough to make about 12fl.oz):
3 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup cornflour (cornstarch)
2 cups water

Mix everything together in a small saucepan, and heat gently until it thickens into a gelatinous gloop.

homemade fingerpaints howto

Pour into pots and leave to cool. (Notice the celery heart waiting to be used as a stamper!)

homemade fingerpaints

When it’s cool, tip each portion out into a bowl and give it a good mix before adding food colouring.

homemade fingerpaints

homemade fingerpaints

I used about 1/2 tsp liquid food colouring for the red and yellow, and probably about 1/4 tsp for the blue – I might make the blue stronger though! Here are my paints ready to use.

homemade fingerpaints

I thought I’d road-test them before letting Messy Boy loose with them so got my celery heart stamping to make some wrapping paper…

homemade fingerpaints celery flower printing

And then got out a big sheet of wallpaper lining paper to let Messy Boy come and get messy! My fingers are still stained red from painting the balloon… but it’s only food colouring, it’ll come out ;o)

homemade fingerpaints painting

For some reason he was really reluctant to get his hands messy this time, so I used the kitchen paper tube rolling pin a lot more than he did.

homemade fingerpaints painting kitchen paper tube rolling pin

But, he did enjoy using a kitchen paper tube as a heart stamper, and the celery heart as a flower stamper!

homemade fingerpaints painting kitchen paper tube heart stamper

I think our finished picture is quite pretty. Definitely calling out for me to do some drawing on once it’s dry!

homemade fingerpaints painting

§ 6 Responses to Homemade fingerpaints

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Homemade fingerpaints at the messy mama.

meta

