Sweet greens and blues…

July 4, 2012 § Leave a comment

Today we painted.

Well, I painted, to start with. I’ve been dying to have a go all by myself at some swirly gooey hand painting. Messy Boy was occupied with playdough and flour and enjoying making a fair old mess, and then occupied washing his hands and giving all the bottletops a big bath.

So I set up my own invitation to paint…

the messy mama - invitation to paint - sweet greens and blues

And oh my word did it look inviting to me! I go stuck straight in. Messy Baby was wide awake and watching intently (I have no pictures of him though as the camera was set up pointing the other way), and I had to move things several times as he had a farther reach than I thought he had!

the messy mama - artist at work - sweet greens and blues

No wonder Messy Boy enjoys this, the paint feels gorgeous!!

the messy mama - artist at work - sweet greens and blues

Anyway by this point Messy Boy had finished flooding the kitchen again and wanted to do his own painting.

I set up a fresh invitation to paint:

the messy mama - invitation to paint

Which was hugely well received!

We started by squeezing the paint onto the paper. Messy Boy directed. Blue here, green here, yellow here. Stop mummy, stop! (Not until the camera clicks, honey!)

the messy mama - messy painting

Then it was time to paint. Here’s where I hold him under his armpits and he swings his legs wildly in the gloopy paint. HE LOVES IT!!

the messy mama - messy painting

And then when he’s swung his legs around enough I let him get on with it with his hands and anything else available as well. Today he chose the tractor to help make marks in the paint. I’d already used it, and the tape roll, and the cork…

the messy mama - messy painting

He enjoyed bunny-hopping across the paper, and now I know how this particular paint works I know that we can easily paint over the green with yellow and it show through so I have some fantastic prints of his feet at last!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet greens and blues… at the messy mama.

meta

