Glove Monster

July 5, 2012 § Leave a comment

Some friends and I were thinking of doing a sockmonster flashmob type thing. Now… I already have a handful of sock monsters that I bought a couple of years ago. I fell in love with them and figured if I bought them, eventually I’d be able to get round to making some friends for them.

Glove Monster Bob - tutorial with photos - by the messy mama

And all of a sudden it’s flashmob time and I thought I’d see just how hard a basic glove monster was to make! I told my friend to stuff one glove with another, but I have three cushions that are literally falling apart so now I have three cushions’ worth of stuffing to use. Hurrah!! I foresee a lot more sock and glove monsters being made MWAhahahahahaha……. hehe…..

Glove Monster Bob - the beginning - by the messy mamaGlove Monster Bob is taking shape by the messy mama

First, turn the glove inside out and carefully cut off the thumb and the two middle fingers. Use wool to sew the edges together using a blanket stitch. Then you can turn the glove right side out again.

Glove Monster Bob is given eyes by the messy mama

You would not believe how hard it was to find a tin for my buttons this morning. I am obsessed with pretty little tins, and had recently acquired a few bags of buttons (also an obsession) which needed a home – and could I find any tins?! Eventually I found one I’d bought for Messy Boy to use as a treasure tin and re-homed it in my sewing box. So Glove Monster Bob (yes, he has a name already) now has eyes, sewn on with wool. I’m not taking my chances with an inquisitive baby around – they are sewn on properly.

Glove Monster Bob gets sewn up by the messy mama

Time for stuffing! Stuff the ears first using small balls of stuffing so you don’t stuff them out of shape, then fill in the body. Sew the bottom up with wool using a blanket stitch again.

Glove Monster Bob gets a mouth by the messy mama

Glove Monster Bob was given a red woollen mouth using a cross-stitch. I waited until he was stuffed and sewn up before giving him a mouth because it was tricky enough sewing his eyes on before he was stuffed!

Flopsy, Mopsy, Cottontail and .... Bob.

So here he is with his friends. Flopsy, Mopsy, Cottontail, and …… yes, Bob.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Glove Monster at the messy mama.

meta

