Garden activities

September 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

We went out and bought a garden sieve today – the boys’ digging patch is going to get a bit of a makeover next week! We’re going to dig up as much of the soil as possible, and put it through the sieve to get rid of as much of the building rubble as possible. I’ve also been saving all our coffee grounds and eggshells as various places I’ve read suggest that you can add these straight into the soil, they don’t need composting first. The boys should love helping dig that in! Looking forward to planting bulbs in there although I’m not sure they would get a chance to grow: they’d more likely be dug up now that BOTH boys have a taste for digging…

Once we’re done, I found this amazing idea for what we can do with any treasures we find, over on Nurturestore’s blog. Cement tiles! I’m really looking forward to that. I’m not sure whether Messy Baby will be actively involved in that. Maybe while I’m out taking Messy Baby to some heuristic play sessions, Messy Dad and Messy Boy can be making cement art?!

I’m looking forward to next week. Now I’m over my worries about Baby roaming the garden, I can actively enjoy spending time outdoors with them both again. Cuts and scrapes can be soothed with savlon and plasters, bumps with cuddles, stones can be retrieved from mouths. Even if Boy decides to cover Baby in soil again we can deal with it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Garden activities at the messy mama.

meta

