Poverty is a state of mind

March 20, 2013 § 1 Comment

We had some fun playdough time this morning, at Bean’s request – and at Bear’s insistence he joined in too and LOVED it.

I wish I’d taken more photographs. Wish I’d been able to document it properly, y’know? Properly, as in, in a pin-worthy fashion. My perfectly groomed children, doing their perfect activity on a perfect table, in my perfect house.

But I didn’t, because I felt shame. I’ve not felt shame in a very very long time. Not like this. I was ashamed of our bare unplastered walls, peeling wallpaper that we’ve yet to deal with, dresser laden with compost bin and nappy pail instead of pretty cake stands, boxes and stuff piled up everywhere, a table that looks like it’s been in several fights, kids with chocolate on their pyjama tops and one with yoghurt-matted hair (it was almost bathtime… see I’m justifying myself already)… and this was AFTER I’d tidied up.

Pinterest can be fantastic for the things you stumble across, but also – as I just found out – damaging too. In my desire to be pinworthy I set myself up for an instant fall. In comparing myself to others, I let a lie in that said I wasn’t good enough.

I chatted to Steve about it afterwards. And, looking around once my head wasn’t being invaded by a lie, I saw nothing to be ashamed of: instead I saw life, happening.

We are poor, right now: there’s no denying that.

But poverty – poverty is a state of mind. It’s a label. It’s actually a really unhealthy and unhelpful label. Poverty implies utter brokenness.

We are not broken.

We are rich beyond measure. We have a roof over our heads, walls that shield us from the wind and rain. We have a beautiful family. I am blessed simply to be a woman – to simply be able to grow and bear new life, what a blessing that is in itself! We are also blessed with some truly special friends, and a spirit-filled church family. With riches such as these, we could never consider ourselves in poverty – despite what our circumstances might suggest.

And when we give, like the widow who gave her only two coins, out of our lack rather than out of our wealth, when we host others in our most definitely not well-appointed or well-to-do home, when we reach the end of our Selves, we know that that is where we will find God.

§ One Response to Poverty is a state of mind

  • I agree entirely. We made the decision to have one parent at work and the other at home and that means we go without luxuries and live in a small house. We’re not on the bread line but I often feel a stab of inferiority when I see how my friends live. Then I remember that we are rich in the way we want to be rich 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Poverty is a state of mind at the messy mama.

meta

