Playdough storytelling

March 28, 2013 § Leave a comment

I declared a “no-tv” morning this morning after watching LOTS of DVDs yesterday. I suggested lots of different things we could do instead. Bean asked if he could watch something while I did some housework, so I let him watch an episode of Octonauts. And he didn’t want any more after that, he came and said he wanted to do some “work” now! I’m not sure I like that he considered playing with playdough or painting “work”, I might have to ask his preschool about that one.

We got the playdough out. He asked for black playdough, he likes the black stuff at the moment! Bear was given a tub of red playdough (I keep pots of various coloured dough in the fridge, if it doesn’t get destroyed it keeps really well for quite a while) and they set to work.

Bean wanted to make a beach! I have a tub of red glass pebbles and pieces of smooth shell so I went and found that. He wanted wood as well but I don’t have any driftwood at the moment. I did have, however, his velociraptor and a plastic tree and was that ok? It was, and so the story began….

The dinosaur was a mummy dinosaur and she had three eggs, and they hatched and she carried them on her head to a tree and helped them climb and play in the tree!
playdoughstorytelling1
playdoughstorytelling2
playdoughstorytelling3
playdoughstorytelling4
The Bear was having a ball with his red playdough. He was pressing glass beads and shells and playdough tooltips into his dough, and using the rolling pin to make indents in it.
bearplaydough1
bearplaydough2
Then I found Noah, and a pig, and a plastic hoop – and we had a funfair, with the pig jumping through the hoop!
bearplaydough3
bearplaydough4
Good fun this morning!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Playdough storytelling at the messy mama.

meta

