Pirate Playdough

May 30, 2013 § Leave a comment

Took a fair bit of food colouring gels but it was SO worth it!! I made pirate playdough today. My eyes needed matchsticks and I forgot to put any caffeine in my coffee but Bean wanted to make pirate cakes and pirate playdough and how could I refuse?!

pirate playdough

I split a batch of regular cooked playdough gloop into three: the first bit I cooked plain, the second I added a tube and a half of black gel and a big squirt of blue gel; and the third I added almost two tubes of red gel and a vial of edible gold lustre (which I had left over from making my birthday cake last year!). Yeah, a LOT of gel colouring went into it but oh my goodness it was gorgeous to play with. The boys LOVED it. We added a lot of blue glitter to the black dough, and the boys both had a lot of fun mixing the red and black together, and hiding and finding pirate treasure (red glass beads). I cut some little flags out of shiny black card and taped them to cocktail sticks, and Bean found a Lego Bob to be his pirate. Bear had a wooden cow! They played for ages. LOTS of fun!

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

 

Doesn’t it look gorgeous all marbled together like this?!

 

 

Pirate playdough

Pirate playdough

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pirate Playdough at the messy mama.

meta

